Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited (Chasey With The Rain and Watching Rainbows)

I was riding my trusty and prized children’s trisikad in random loops, turning right and left on the whim. Did I ignore my mother’s instructions or was she not there, I can’t remember. All I remember was that it must have been during siesta or nearing dusk as I was alone in the stretched concrete courtyard.

The courtyard was only about five meters wide, but to my little child’s eyes, it was as vast as a basketball court. I didn’t care if there were hidden eyes looking down at me in any of the terrace houses that line the edges of the courtyard. The endless possibilities of fun and discovery of a vast, empty space excited me. No one was here. Nothing was here. It’s all mine!

Something must have caught my attention. I wasn’t on my trisikad anymore. All I remember was that a cool breeze was blowing from and the sky has turned grey at one end of the courtyard. I must have been mesmerized by it all, because before I knew it, I was playing Chasey with the rain.

It was both intimidating and exhilarating! Unlike my neighbors who I play with nearly every day, here was something that I’m not sure of. I don’t know how fast it can run or the possibility of it outrunning me. The sound it made as it hit the concrete floor, drawing ever closer, was not as familiar as the shouts and laughter of my peers. But here it was, chasing after me. At that instant, it became a friend.

The sky must have gradually taken on a grey as it raced towards the other end of the courtyard, consuming the brightness of a fine day along its path, attempting to also consume me with its shower. But I didn’t look up. My eyes were set on my house. Like most boys at my age, I was determined to beat it.

Before finding shelter under the eaves of my house, I took a quick glance behind me to see how much I’ve outran it. The courtyard was nearly covered by the curtain of rain that was still drawing closer and it has inked most of the concrete floor in dark-bluish grey. Catching my breathe whilst enjoying my victory, I watched it run past my house and envelope the entire scene.

Not long after, aside from the sense of pride I got from ‘outrunning’ the rain, I was rewarded with at least two full arcs of rainbows in the sky when I went out to check if it was dry enough to play again.

So I stood there for a few minutes, watching rainbows… Just mesmerized.

This is my response to this Daily Prompt:
What is your earliest memory? Describe it in detail, and tell us why you think that experience was the one to stick with you.

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited (Chasey With The Rain and Watching Rainbows)

Leave a Mark

